Birthdays – The celebration of the past


fileBirthdays are the most illustrious events that may argue well for my observations. Nobody needs a philosophical lecture or a blog on how birthdays were always happy, much awaited days in our childhood. Off late, may be after leaving school and for some after college, they are not enticing as they used to be. I do not care about who wishes and not for I have realized what is my birthday to others through how do I see others’ birthdays.

If someone is special to me, I plan to surprise them on their birthday with some special moments and gifts. I may succeed sometimes in surprising but not in getting my intentions across and that is to make them realize how important are they to me and the time I spent on thinking of them to make this whole surprise thing. Again, it narrows to the past factor where I do expect someday or some years later, I wish this surprise to be remembered.

And if the person is not special but important to me, I make sure to meet them or at least call them up to wish them a happy Birthday. Thanks to FB’s right top corner, I am saved in many occasions.

And if the person is just a friend, it all ends with a wall post and a like and comment “Thanks. Not to forget the EOD status “So many wishes in FB! Thanks friends. I am overwhelmed”

And if it is your colleague, some new comer would have been already identified to do the lifeless job of cropping a group photo, find some nice quotes on birthday, make a collage and send the Birthday email to the whole team. And you either wish in a click or walk that extra mile to shake hand, not to wish but to pick a chocolate they might have brought to offer to wishes.

And if you do none of the above, it is meant to be that way. Well you have to get ready to face either a sentimental array of events or a nonchalant reaction “Aren’t you ashamed to speak about treat when you have not even bothered to wish?”, for all of them remember the past well.

I personally do not feel anything or I can say I have become numb to the ritual calls, SMS, Wall posts and mails. To top it all, the Birthday cake cutting ceremony in office where everybody in the group around would be awaiting the moment to leave from the place.

As I said already, Birthdays are the best celebrations of the past. And no wonder we crave for present.

 

Leave a comment