Udhayam NH4 – A road not to be taken even for pissing


Udhayam_NH4_first_lookThe movie starts with a bifurcated frame with a road junction in one and a group of guys indulged in some serious talks over a tea in another. The color tone, visual output just looks like an amateur’s short film on screen. Dialogues sinking in the BG, I must say it was the worst first scene I have seen in recent times. But it keeps the audience quizzing not to think what but why.

The screenplay swings in a non linear fashion at definite intervals, with all the characters introduced in bunches. Sidodarth, the chocolate (play)boy for once dons a rugged look with stubble and I don care attitude, thanks to his shortened dialogues and dubbing with depth in voice. A neat performance I must say, but boy you must be very careful in choosing the scripts, after all, you failed to create waves in your attempt to reenter kollywood through 180 doors.

And the antagonist gets a bollywood import – kay kay menon, not many among the tamil audience might know this actor, even if I mention his role in one of my favourite movie – Life in a Metro. In my opinion, he is sure to stay for a while with these monotonous character creators. His role and performance is the life support I can say. Two of the friends of the lead character(one among them has come in kulir 100 degree) are the others worth of a mention.

The movie is cliched in every way, be it the story or the treatment, a lead lady who is the daughter of a powerful politician, who is desperately in need of pure love having lost her mother at an early age(a shot where she was left in boarding school has been suttufied from minsara kanavu), a hero who is not studious but intelligent of Einstein sorts and as usual the girl falls for him for his honesty and manliness. But how come they can get united just like that. So there comes a twist, the girl is a minor and hence the hero and his friends plot to nick the girl to Tamilnadu from Bangalore. I do not know why on earth, they should elope just a day before she turns 18 and rush the story in hours towards 12 midnight so that she becomes a major. Hell with the logic. But then it is cinema, I shouldn be speaking about that. Ok. Everything from the first shot till the end looks pathetically intentional in a miserable attempt to be intelligent.

The hero makes a fool proof plan with all the offshoots in the flowchart carefully calculated. Awesome fooling in the name of film making. I do not know how long this trend is here to stay but till it does, we cannot evolve. The movie, I must confess made me sit on the edge of the seat and yes I was waiting to exit the movie hall asap. After such warning, if anyone attempts to watch the movie, please do let me know if you are vaguely reminded of “Deepavali” by infamous ‘susi susi’ jayam ravi. I think I am alone on this. I should blame the Bangalore connect.

The only other thing apart from siddharth’s performance that saved me was the sparingly sprinkled witty dialogues. Shhhhhh I forgot to tell you that this movie is written by Vettri Maran. I heard him in a interview saying “Go and watch the movie without any expectation”. Well I did not go with any expectation but was wondering if it was written and scripted by vetri maran. My good friend sabari was very correct when he said. “if he says so, then it implies, the movie is not good”. Well, mentioning it as not good is exaggerated for it was pathetic.

Udhayam- NH4 – the road not to be taken even for pissing.

LOL moment – The wiki calls it A romantic thriller road movie.. Bitch please!!!!

Leave a comment